rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Microdot [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Hey readers! Hope you’re having a great weekend so far, and so far it’s been a blast being back on the blogging circuit. For today’s post, we present our previously announced interview with 19-year old Auckland native, former member of child hip-hop duo ALL BLACK, and younger brother of R&B trio Phantom’s Sanchez – the one and the only, rapper Microdot is in the house!

David Shin aka Micrdot (born Nov. 21st, 1993), is a Korean rapper originally from Auckland, New Zealand. Originally known as one half of the rookie prodigy hip-hop duo ALL BLACK, alongside Dok2, Microdot has since returned to New Zealand following ALL BLACK’s disbandment back in 2006. He is currently in university, as well as working on some independent material as a rapper and aspiring singer. While on a recent trip back to Korea, and his first since moving back to New Zealand, Microdot took sometime to answer some questions for us!

555480_400021553399034_1531155609_nrhythm.connection: Thanks for taking the time to do this interview!

Microdot: Thanks for having me!

What kind of artist do you consider yourself?

I consider myself a rapper who can sing too, but different to many. I love trying new things, even the things out of my comfort zone. See, I’m not a dark underground rapper or a mellow hype rapper but I see myself as both and in between which can be good and bad haha.

How long have you been doing music for? What inspired you to get into rapping?

Between 2003-2006 was my “up there years” when I was a part of All Black, however I was young and clueless and did as I was told time to time. But my first recording session was when I was 9 for an album in New Zealand back in the days haha, when my voice was even more high pitched than the All Black days. Most people say 2Pac, Biggie, or Nas or Jay-Z would’ve inspired them, but for me, before Pac and Biggie inspired me, my older brothers did. Sanchez (of Phantom) and Blasto (oldest brother) use to produce and record when they were younger, around the ages of 13 and 15, and during this one studio session they asked me to freestyle… so I did a poetry verse I learnt at school that same day, then started rappin about monkeys and fishing haha (clueless young minded days), and then my passion grew from then. So I’ve been doing it since I was 9 till now (19 yrs old).

You’re originally from New Zealand, correct? What made you decide to move out to Korea to do music out there (back when you were in ALL BLACK)?

As I said before my brothers made music, a lot of which I thought was and still is quality type of tracks. They had a album showcase and I happened to be involved in one track out of the whole CD. At the time Dynamic Duo (legendary korean hip-hop duo) were in Auckland and they agreed to be our special guests for the concert, and they saw me on stage and thought/said “We can make something out of this kid, there aren’t any kids who can rap and perform these days in Korea”, so a few weeks later I got Signed to this korean label WITH my two brothers, and on the label at the time were Dynamic Duo, Brown Eyed Soul, The Name, Bumkey, Kiggen (of Phantom) and more. As soon as I got to Korea, Dok2 came through and auditioned and then the label thought Dok2 and I should be together so thats how All Black started.

Speaking of ALL BLACK, it’s been several years since the duo disbanded. Is there any chance of you and Dok2 coming back together to work on music, not 574550_400020976732425_1766623759_nnecessarily as ALL BLACK, but even just a collaboration?

Well, at this very moment I’m in Korea right now, and I’ve met up with him already and hes cool, the same ol’ Dok2 you know. He was like an older brother to me back in the day. So as soon as I saw him, the third thing I asked him was, “I’m making a mixtape in Korea, are you down?” He was like “Yeah” haha, but I don’t know…he may change his mind so ya’ll will have to wait and see how it goes. I guess it’s a mystery that ya’ll will have to wait till my tape drops around early January to see if Dok2 came through or not. But it’s gonna be packed up with quality, guaranteed.

As far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration? Who did you look up to when first starting music?

First starting music, I looked up to my brothers no doubt – they were my 100% inspiration. But then 2pac’s “California Love” came through and that was dope; I loved that track a lot! and I think that had a big impact on me whether deciding to become a rapper or singer, but at the time I knew in my mind that one day I’m going to do both.

Do you have any plans to return to Korea, as far as being an active artist there goes?

It’s funny you ask, cause I’m in Seoul right now, where it all started haha, but its flippin’ cold haha. Well I would like to do music again no doubt, cause it’s something that’s stuck deep in my heart (don’t mean to be cliché haha). But whatever I do, for example, I finished my first year of university and when I was studying for my exams I’d close my books a lot and start writing lyrics nonstop! So I think it’s not gonna leave me alone.

21742_435732926494563_1803404024_nDo you have any other aspirations that you want to fulfill?

I want to become a respectable singer. Well, anything I do, I always have a passion to become somebody in that area that’s known to be good or really good at whatever it may be. However the drive for music is like no other. Apart from music, I play football/soccer a lot, so I would like to play at the highest level I possibly can, and I also gym a lot haha, so I’m on my way of becoming “aesthetic” haha.

When you have spare time, what do you do for fun?

For fun, I love fishing haha. I know for Koreans they say that’s such a old man thing to do. BUT in New Zealand where you can catch fish as big or even bigger than you, it’s a totally different game. Apart from going to the gym, I party from time to time. Also I hang out with my girlfriend a lot, but she gyms too so it’s all good! We do a lot together!

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.

 I’m 20! Korean age, cause when I came and told people I’m 20 in Korean age, they were all like, “Wow!! Damn time flew by…you’ve grown a lot! I feel old…” haha.

As most fans know, you’re the younger brother of Phantom’s lead vocalist Sanchez. Have you ever been approached by fans who’ve addressed you as “Sanchez’s little brother”? And if so, do you feel some sort of pressure there at all?

Um…well the other day they [fans] asked Sanchez if they could get a picture and a autograph and so he said yeah, then they said, “Oh you’re Microdot, we know you…” haha. And in my head I’m like, “Yeah I know me too” haha. True that, but nah it’s cool, I feel no pressure, like I’m cool with it, like I even took the picture for them haha. I mean I’ve had my turn (hoping that it will one day come again) and Sanchez would of felt the same back in my All Black days. It makes me feel proud of my bro for doing his thing! And out of all people, he deserves everything coming his way!! It’s taken him something like 13 years or so to be where he is now so I’m hoping he’s gonna blow up. But from time to time it makes me realize, “Wow, what I had back in 03-06 was amazing”, and I do miss it 598522_437372669663922_1782980034_nhaha.

What is your number one must have item when working on music in the studio?

Apart from myself (cause I’m known for being late haha…UNINTENTIONALLY!), I’d have to say my laptop and USB. I don’t mind writing on paper with a pen, but personally I like to use my laptop because it’s so much easier, and plus when I’m writing lyrics (if it’s not already written by the studio session), I like to write quick as my mind flow, and I’m quite a slow writer so having a laptop is definitely a blessing and a MUST NEED.

Any finals words for the readers?

It’s Microdot, still making music. In fact I’m currently making a mixtape right now in Korea that’s due to drop early January-mid January; will be featuring a few guests, which is a secret. But I guess most know that Sancheezy (of Phantom) is my blood brother, so he’s going to be in it. But till then FOLLOW me on Twitter for support @microdot93 and check my YouTube channel and Soundcloud.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MicroDot93

Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/93microdot?feature=mhee

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/93microdot

FACBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/93Microdot

Appreciate the support and thanks a lot!

Thanks so much to David (Microdot) for taking the time to do this interview with us! Please be on the lookout for his new mixtape coming out in the new year, and please be sure to check him out on the above links provided. We’re looking forward to what’s in store next for you! Until next time, you’ve just been hit with another rhythm.connection exclusive!

J.

Photo credit: Microdot

One response to “rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Microdot [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

  1. Pingback: Microdot, “This time it’s different… this time I’m doing this in God’s way” | Hiphop Korea·

Leave a Reply

