rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Andrea An [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

As promised, here is feature two of today’s special “double-feature Wednesday”. For your reading pleasure, here is a name that has been getting attention out west. Architecture student by day, singer-songwriter by night. Please give a big RC reader hello to Canadian YouTube singer-songwriter Andrea An!

Andrea An (born April 7, 1992) is a singer-songwriter based in Saskatoon, SK. With a growing fan base through YouTube, Andrea has become widely recognized as a rising unsigned talent in the young Canadian singer-songwriter circles on the internet. Currently an architecture student at the University of Saskatchewan, she took some time from her busy schedule to answer some questions for your reading enjoyment!

For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please introduce yourself briefly.972306_203191179804766_620121972_n

Hi everyone! My name is Andrea An, and I’m a singer-songwriter from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan but I’m a full-time architecture student as well.

How long have you been doing music for?

I’d say that I’ve been doing music for about 15 years now. I started playing piano when I was six years old, and then I started violin lessons when I was 12, but I quit after two years. I still play the violin every now and then though. I picked up the guitar and taught myself to play when I was 15.

What kind of artist do you consider yourself?

This is a really good question because I’ve been trying to figure that out for quite some time now. I love experimenting with different genres of music, so it’s hard for me to pinpoint my style. But I’d probably have to say that my music falls into the categories of: Singer-songwriter, alternative and folk.

549012_210812705709280_705120277_nAs far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration?

As cliché as it sounds; everybody inspires me. I try to create songs from things that I’ve experienced, and people who I’ve encountered. And to this day, I still can’t think of a person who hasn’t inspired me yet.

You’ve played shows in Saskatoon before; is there anywhere else that you’ve really wanted to play a show in?

It would be a dream come true for me to have a Canadian tour. Most of my fans are located in Edmonton, Calgary, Winnipeg, Vancouver and Montreal. But regardless of where my fans are located, I would still love to tour the east coast of Canada since I’ve only ever travelled within Western Canada.

What has been your most memorable experience with your fans, or any one particular fan that stands out?523791_129242843866267_1610192004_n

The most memorable experience that I had with my fans was when I would have TinyChat sessions. I always used TinyChat to play live music for an hour or two to ‘serenade’ my supporters. TinyChat was a really great way for me to interact with my fans, and it was also a great way for me to get to know them better as well. It’s really important for me to take the time to get to know my supporters because they’re the ones who inspire me to do what I love to do.

As fans know, you’re currently studying architecture in university. What made you want to go into that discipline?

When I was growing up, I loved all forms of art to the point where I was practically obsessed with it. I loved to draw, paint, sketch… you name it! I just loved everything about art and design. But when I was in my senior year of high school, I knew that I wanted to pursue a career that would allow me to exercise my design skills as well as my creativity. I would even visit open houses in my spare time, so from there I knew that I wanted to pursue a career in architecture.

What are your five most played songs on your iPod currently?

1) Ariana Grande – Baby I

2) Aaliyah – Miss You

3) Mree – Walking On A Dream

4) Tori Kelly – Fill A Heart

5) Lana Del Rey – Young And Beautiful

Who are some of your favourite artists currently?965836_203191079804776_817824091_o

I was afraid that I would get asked this question because my answer always changes. But at the top of my head, I’d have to say:

  1. Lana Del Rey & Sara Bareilles for their song writing. They’re just so honest and sincere with everything they write about and they don’t hold back.
  2. Jeremy Passion – his lyrics are always so soulful, and again, so honest. I hate listening to music that I can’t relate to, and what people ‘want’ to hear. I love listening to music that has meaning. Quality will always beat a trend… at least that’s what I believe in anyway.
  3. Mree – She is a young musical genius. I love that she didn’t have to change her style of music to conform to what ‘people want to hear’. Her style of music is very similar to mine, so whenever I listen to her music it always reminds me that I don’t have to change my style of music in order for people to appreciate it.
  4. Adele – After all the recognition she has gotten for her music, she’s still down to Earth and I love her because of that.
  5. Beyonce – The control she has in her voice is just mind blowing to me.
  6. Lastly, Aaliyah, for her humbleness and genuine personality.

What is your guilty pleasure currently? It can be anything!

My architecture peers got me into eating popcorn at anytime of the day.

971466_203192056471345_252410676_nWhen you have spare time, what do you do for fun?

I honestly love to sleep. On a typical day, I usually get between 4-5 hours of sleep, so whenever I have time I try to nap. But if I don’t feel like napping, I like to watch movies, read, and produce music.

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.

I always try to make the best out of every situation. For example, when I got my driver’s license, I gave my driver examiner a hug at the end of my road test. She looked happy when I did that. At least I think she did anyway.

While you have stated before that music is currently a hobby for you, could you see it being a part of your life down the road, regardless of whatever it is you choose to do later on as your main focus?

Music will always play an integral part of my life. Even when I’m done school, I can see myself planning a Canadian tour, but that won’t happen until I release my EP. I’m hoping to release my EP sometime next year, so I guess we’ll see when I’ll be having a Canadian tour.

Any final words for the readers?

Stay inspired and never settle for less. Always be willing to learn and grow, but in the midst of it all, work hard, respect others, stay humble and don’t forget to be yourself. You can inspire so many people just by being yourself.

If you’d like to know more about me, you can follow me on:

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/andreaanoffial

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/aandreaan

Tumblr: http://www.andreaan.tumblr.com/

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/andrea_an

Thanks for reading, and thank you all for your support! And lastly, thank you Jorge for having me in this interview.

Many thanks to Andrea for taking part in this interview! Please look forward to what she has for fans next! Until next time, this has been a rhythm.connection exclusive!

J.

Leave a Reply

