rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Jeremy Thurber [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Hi folks! Here’s one for you – who is a songwriter that has written for TVXQ, comes from the West Coast, sang on one of Chad Future’s songs, and has hidden skills that you will find out about today? Why it’s none other than Mr. Jeremy Thurber!

Jeremy Thurber is a singer-songwriter from San Diego, California. Having worked on pop tracks for the likes of artists from the US, Korea and Japan, Jeremy has spent a long time getting his name out there as an affluent pop singer and songwriter. One of many songwriters now being asked to write for artists, Jeremy also takes time to work on his own material, as he’s soon releasing a new EP called ‘#SOLO’. Taking time from his schedule, he answered some questions for us. Enjoy!

 

5873HRE rszFor those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please introduce yourself briefly.
My name is Jeremy Thurber, I’m a singer songwriter from San Diego currently living in Hollywood.

How long have you been doing music for?
I’ve been doing music almost my whole life in one way of the other, started dancing early and started writing when I was young and got into it professionally like 4 years ago, it’s crazy!

What kind of artist do you consider yourself?
I think my music leans more pop, tho i love doing rob and rap, i kinda think it’s a new fusion of all my favourite types of music.

As far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration?
For inspiration I pull from anything that moves me, i’ve deff had my favourite artists and people who i think I’ve pulled from like Justin Timberlake, Dido, Max Martin but recently i’ve been looking for all new things and expanding looking for amazing songs.

You’ve experienced a lot of ups and downs in your career thus far. What have been some of the highlights of your career thus far?
Ha, ya its been quite the roller coaster, it’s about a million “No’s” for every one “Yes” haha. Some of the best highlights tho have been, working with Jake Miller and seeing that take off, then to go to Target one day and go pick up a copy of something you did was a cool feeling, and most recently the song I wrote for TVXQ went platinum first week on their album. It’s definitely been an amazing adventure.

You’ve done a lot of work with the K-POP group TVXQ. What is it like working with the group?Print-5660 rsz
TVXQ is such an iconic group for K-Pop and J-pop, it’s just been a blessing to be able to write a song for them.

You’ve also written for some other talented artists. Which have been some memorable ones for you?
I’ve worked with some pretty awesome artists, I’ve been blessed that way, I had a blast working with Sarah De Bono who has an amazing voice and Grayson Chance in Bali, and of course Jake.

What’s your relationship like with fellow songwriters Sean Alexander and Drew Ryan Scott?
My relationship with Sean and Drew is awesome, they were pretty much the first music people I met out here and worked with. They the first song I did that bring in the online attention “I Love You But..” They’re super talented guys.

You were a guest at KCON last year. Talk about that experience briefly.
It was awesome, I was actually on a panel with Sean and Drew, and had a blast, Hopefully I’ll be returning this year:)

1052692_10151437141331114_435420978_oCan fans expect more tracks from you soon?
Yes, my EP #SOLO will be dropping in June and I’m already working on my next album, but everyone should definitely check out the first single “Buzzkill” and “Falcon”

What are your five most played songs currently?
I’m always cycling new music, I can write up to 10 new songs/demos a week so I’m always listening to and working on those but other than that I’m really digging the new Cher Lloyd stuff, and songs my friends send me.

Who are some of your favourite artists/producers currently?
The artists im loving right now… hmm.. I love what Iggy is doing, Cher Lloyd, Drake is always great, JT. I’m really digging what the Monsters & Strangers are doing right now with production, as well as Wallpaper and Stargate, hope to work with them in the near future.

Name any artist you would like to collaborate with, and why.
I would love to do a song with Rihanna or Big Sean, they’re definitely always pushing the envelope and I love that.

When you have spare time, what do you do for fun?1384059_10151620764116114_1378240428_n
When I have spare time I’m prob sleeping or partying…I’m no stranger to fun :p

What is your current guilty pleasure?
My guilty pleasure is probably cooking, I love to cook, it focuses and resets the mind and the reward at the end is always worth it.

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.
Fans may not know I’m a fencing champion.. yup.. I beat all my friends at the renaissance faire the other week.

Any advice for aspiring songwriters?
MY advice for songwriters would be to push yourself, do the work, study and learn how to break down popular songs and notice all the dynamics going on between the lyrics, melody, production, arrangement and mix that’s going on that makes it what it is.

Any final words for the readers?
I’d love to give thanks to everyone who’s been following me through this journey and has supported my artist career and the artists I write for. Without you guys we’re just another dreamer…keep living and loving and come follow me on Twitter and Instagram @Jeremythurber and let’s have some fun along the way!!

 

There you have it! Big shouts to Jeremy and his management for making this happen! Watch out for his new EP in June, and until next time, this has been a rhythm.connection exclusive!

 

J.

 

One response to “rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Jeremy Thurber [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Leave a Reply

