rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Albi Albertsson [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Greetings readers! If you are tuning in now, you’re in for yet another special interview today! We have been waiting a while to interview this producer and we are super grateful for the chance to do so. Here is our chat with European KPOP producer Albi Albertsson!

Albi Albertsson (born June 22, 1987) is a Berlin-based producer who has worked with artists all around the world. He is most known for producing tracks for various JPOP artists, including Arashi, E-Girls, Kat-tun and J Soul Brothers to name a few, along with some KPOP track credits to his name. Also the founder of Mussashi Publishing, he keeps busy writing music when he can. As such, he was kind enough to take some time out of his schedule to answer some questions for us!

 

For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please introduce yourself briefly.

My name is Albi Albertsson, I’m a music producer and songwriter based in Berlin. I run a publishing company called MUSSASHI Publishing and also produce under the name MUSSASHI.

How long have you been doing music for?

I started when I was four and haven’t stopped since.

What kind of artist/producer do you consider yourself?

Independent in every way with no reservations towards commercial potential.

As far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration?

Anyone who moves me.

229831_4593591402274_316312020_nYou worked with Sony Music Japan while you were still in your teens. How did that come about?

When I was 17 I was set on becoming a rock star and they were interested in signing me. Almost happened, but I decided to go back to Germany and finish high school. Something didn’t feel right about it.

You’re very well known to K-POP fans for having worked on a couple of songs for SM Entertainment boy band EXO’s debut EP, “Two Moons” and “MACHINE”, as well as artists like After School, ZE:A, SHINee, VIXX and more. How did you initially get connected to that industry?

My former publishers connected me. I had no idea what K-POP was and I thought it was weird. Then I realized it was awesome.

You’ve also produced and written for artists in Germany and Japan. What would you say are some key differences in terms of work ethic when you’re working with Korean artists, Japanese artists, European artists etc.?

Very generally speaking, being a creator in Asia, you can be more creative and be valued more, compared to what I’ve experienced in Europe.

Can fans expect more tracks from you soon?

Absolutely, there’s a lot going on. I have about nine different artists to release new songs shortly. Unfortunately I can’t give any more details on most of them. The next one I have coming out is Girls Generation TTS.

You’ve been a key player in the music industry as a producer for some time. Where do you see music tastes going in the near future, based on your previous work with various artists?

Honestly I never even think about that so much. I do what I think is great and exciting and that will always follow an ever-evolving process. I dig deep when it comes to actual musical content like composition, sound design, arrangements and overall musical quality but for the general direction I follow my intuition. If it’s great and you think it’s truly exciting, why shouldn’t a lot of other people in the world find it exciting too?

What are your five most played songs currently?

I don’t listen to a lot of music privately and I have no songs, that I’m addicted to at the moment or something like that. But off the top of my head, two tracks I listened to very recently and liked were Madeon – The City, Dirty Loops – Wake me up,

Who are some of your favourite artists/producers currently?

MUSSASHI producers :). No, honestly, I’m not a “fan” type of guy, but believe it or not, the artist we write for are some of my favourites: SHinee, VIXX, Girls Generation..

Name any artist you would like to collaborate with, and why.

Nickelback. Because it’s cool to hate them. I love Nickelback.

For all the technophiles out there, what software/hardware do you generally use when producing music?10268680_10152984584168797_5348754862204859370_n

Cubase, lots of VST’s. Hardware wise it’s very high quality but very simple. I work on a Mac, RME converters, Adam monitors, Universal Audio preamp and a couple of great mics. And then I have another mobile setup. I don’t have a whole rack of vintage compressors or anything like that. I do have a couple of fun toys like the MASCHINE and stuff like that, but I usually use it for a couple months and then get rid of them again. It’s not important. The idea is important.

When you have spare time, what do you do for fun?

When I have spare time I travel the world writing and producing music for million selling artists. I don’t have a job so all I have is spare time.

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.

If I actually happen to have any (good willing) fans out there, send me good food. Good food makes me happy.

Any advice for aspiring producers/songwriters?

If you’re brilliant, come to MUSSASHI. Or make it on your own, but don’t sit on your asses.

Any final words for the readers?

I love you.

 

Much thanks to Albi for taking the time to answer these questions. Until next time, this is a rhythm.connection exclusive!

J.

Leave a Reply

