rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Jent [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Salutations readers! Here is a surprise interview that we did not previously announce, but indirected eluded to recently – allow us to introduce Lee Jung Bin, better known as Jent, a rookie solo artist in Korea, who recently made his debut with ‘Girl Like Coffee’. Check out our chat with him!

Lee Jung-bin (aka Jent, born Feb. 12, 1991) is a Korean solo artist and former member of boy band PURE. Having a CF and movie under his belt already, Jent is bringing a fresh R&B/hip-hop sound to his music, quite a different feel from the music he made while in PURE. Having recently begun promotions for his solo debut single, he took some time to answer our questions and inform fans of how he plans to shake the K-pop scene – Jent style!

10313412_1455303711419924_3879617155541729358_nFor those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please introduce yourself briefly.

Hi everyone, I’m Jent. A new solo artist ready to release my first digital single, “Girl Like Coffee” on the 2nd of September!

How long have you been doing music for?

It’s been about ten years since I’ve started doing music. Since I was 20 years old, I have trained as a trainee for four years, and first debuted last year as a member of the group PURE. Now I am debuting as a solo artist.

 

What kind of artist would you consider yourself?

Musically I’m a very relaxed person, my music shows that. I love R&B and Hiphop, and I try for the best sounds vocally and also in rap too. I like to take part in all my musical preparations including the concept, styling and everything. I’m a fun artist, different to a lot of other KPOP artists out there. I’d consider myself very unique.

As some fans know, you originally debuted as a member of boy band PURE in 2013. Talk a bit about your time in the group, and how it helped you improve as a performer.

PURE was a group that got me a lot of new experiences. Performing with two albums in the year, releasing two songs, music videos, performing on music shows for around 50 times in the year and a rookie award was all very exciting. As for now, I think it’s time to use that experience to show off more of my personal talents and musical colors.

Do you still keep in touch with the other members?10615834_10153103310322729_684855891_n

Yes definitely, we keep in touch regularly. Three members – Younghu, Chanwhee and Soohyeok – are promoting in Japan as a group called Bara. Jimin is training as a trainee as part of another boy group.

You filmed a CF for the brand ARO Shoes. Talk about that experience.

Definitely very fun, I even sung the brand commercial song as well! The shoes are very nice and my mother actually very much enjoyed the commercial. It was my first time filming something like that so it was quite new.

I also heard you were cast in a movie in a lead role. Can you talk about that experience?

It was also my first time acting and it was very pressuring for me to take on such a big role. Acting is very different from music as I can be someone else in front of the camera. Jinsung, the role I had in the movie Ugly Foot, is a brave boy full of dreams and loyalty, also has skills and talent as growing as a professional speed skater. However he faces many problems such as getting involved in a car crash and losing his girlfriend and dreams which leads him into the darker side. Jinsung was a very in-depth character and was very hard to describe.

Now that you’re a soloist, what kind of sound would you say your music gravitates towards?

My musical inspirations have always been more towards the R&B Hiphop genre, my favorite artists being Trey Songz, Chris Brown, Neyo and Usher. My next song that I am preparing for after this single is more of the R&B side which is very exciting too.

10637867_10153103310382729_314615629_nWhat are some of your goals, in terms of creating music and performing?

My ultimate goal is to be able to go to the US and maybe promote there; maybe even chart on the Billboard charts too! For the moment I am going to China for promotions in September followed maybe by an Asia Tour which is also very exciting too.

How did you connect with your current management, Kompany93?

Our CEO, Haeri Lee whom is very famous in the western community I hear, is a very brave CEO full of dreams and is very vivacious. Apart from her, the whole Kompany93 team are a big, loyal family unlike other entertainment businesses in Korea. We first met last year during an interview with PURE and Kompany93 which can be viewed on Youtube, and from there we contracted after the disband.

Is there any other areas of entertainment in which you’d like to gain experience in aside from acting and singing?

I actually produce my own songs; maybe in the near future I’d be producing other teams or artist’s songs and music. I also have interest in choreographing too.

When can fans hear expect more music from you?

My next song, which is written by K from the Wonderboyz will be out soon, maybe the end of the year? We are preparing very hard for it at the moment planning out the concept and styling as well.

As far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration?10660657_10153103310332729_238060619_n

As mentioned before, my favorite artists are Trey Songz, Neyo, Chris Brown and Usher. They do the kind of music that I adore.

What are your five most played songs currently?

Lately? Uhhh.

  1. Jay Park- 약속해
  2. Trey Songz- Smart Phones
  3. Winner- 공허해
  4. Eric Bellinger- Film Me

And my own newly made single, ‘Girl Like Coffee!’

What is your guilty pleasure currently? It can be anything!

Eating, eating and eating. (I’ve gained about 4kgs after the disband!)

In three words, describe your personality.

Stubborn (in music especially, but in the good way), relaxed and funny (I think so anyway).

10647797_10153103310197729_1648113200_nWhen you have spare time, what do you do for fun?

I like to watch a lot of movies to help my acting side, and also listen to a lot of pop music too. I always keep an eye out on the Billboard charts to check out what kind of artists and music is newly released.

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.

I am learning English these days, and I have a lot of moles. I weigh 60kgs now! (yay!)

Any advice for aspiring artists?

As the Hallyu is evolving now, I think it’s better to find your own musical colors and developing your skills than concentrating on your looks.

Any final words for the readers?

Thank you so much for reading this long interview! I am very excited to see you guys with my first digital single and promotion as a solo artist. I’m very happy and hope you guys like my music!

 

Special thanks to previous interviewee and Kompany93 CEO Haeri Lee for helping set this up. Make sure to check out his debut single, ‘Girl Like Coffee‘! Until next time, this is a rhythm.connection exclusive!

 

J.

Leave a Reply

