rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Lee Ye Jun [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Hi readers! Today you’re in for a very special and very honest interview. We recently had the pleasure of chatting with The Voice Korea season 2 winner and singer Lee Ye Jun, and you’ll find what she has to say about her life as a singer very interesting. For your reading pleasure, here is our interview with Lee Ye Jun!

Lee Ye Jun (born October 9, 1988) is a Korean singer-songwriter who rose to prominence after winning the second season of The Voice Korea, under the mentorship of singer and former H.O.T member Kangta. She debuted earlier this year under Universal Music Korea, with a duet track featuring the vocal talents of 4men’s Shin Yong Jae. A vocal major graduate of the Seoul Institute of the Arts, Ye Jun continues to work on personal and professional growth to show the best of herself to fans through her music.

114987For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please introduce yourself briefly.

Hello! My name is Ye Jun Lee. I’m the winner of The Voice Korea season 2. I usually sing ballad songs, but I love to sing pop songs and Disney songs. You can search my covers on YouTube!

How long have you been doing music for?

Actually, I’ve been doing music my whole life. When I was a kid, my father and my uncles always sang old pop music. They sang ever since I could remember. Even at my grandfather’s funeral, my whole family sang Oh Happy Day’, not because of his passing, but because it was the day he was going to heaven. I started to learn singing professionally when I was third grade in high school.

What kind of artist do you consider yourself?

I think I’m specialized at singer sad ballad songs. It’s easy for me to emphasize the character in the song. I can feel the sadness or grief. And I always think to myself, “This is my story.” It really hurts me.

As far as music is concerned, who gives you your inspiration?

That’s a hard question. Because everybody inspires me. Sometimes a kid inspires me, or a grandpa, Beyonce, Cee Lo Green, Jessie J, Celine Dion, Luther Vandross, 윤복희, 이선희, or it could be a person who can’t sing. I’m interested in animal protection also, so I want to sing or write a song for that.

As fans know, you won the second season of the Korean singing audition program ‘The Voice of Korea’. I have a few questions regarding your whole experience. My first one is…what thoughts raced through your mind when you found out that you won?116779

“It’s over” haha. It was so unreal to me. All the prizes, the honour of being a winner. It was crazy!

What attracted you to audition for the show in the first place?

It was a blind audition, which was really important to me, because I had no confidence in my looks and I wanted to test myself. I asked myself, ‘Do I have a talent?’, ‘Does my voice have power?’ It was those kind of self-questions that drove me to do it.

What was the biggest challenge for you, in terms of consistently delivering the best performance you could each week on the show?

Actually, winning was not that important to me. I wanted to challenge myself, try something different, sing various genres. But eventually I sang lots of ballad songs, so that was my biggest challenge. I needed to differentiate myself within similar ballad styles.

124597Any memorable moments from your time on the show?

Kangta and his team took a trip together. It was great time!

What was it like working with Kangta?

At first, it was really strange. We were all like ‘Oh my…Kangta is standing in front of us!’ After that, he was like a brother to everybody. He is a really loving, caring person. He gave us a lot of advice.

Are you still in contact with Kangta or any of the other contestants from the show?

Yes! We are all close. And we have a private chat room!

Fans know you are well connected with Shin Yong Jae of 4men. Tell us about that.

He is a junior as a school colleague, but a senior in the industry. Actually, in school, we weren’t that close. There’s so many things to learn from him and I’m a big fan of his now.

You’ve released a couple of single albums since your debut earlier this year. Your second single, ‘Place of Transfer’ has some very interesting lyrics. Can you talk about the meaning behind those lyrics?2014691440191

In this song, the girl knows that she has to move on, but she doesn’t want to and doesn’t know where to go. She needs more time, but there’s no time. The ‘station’ could be the lover or the situation. This story could be right before the breakup, or right after the breakup, depending on the listener’s situation. It can be different with each one.

When can fans expect more new music from you?

Sometime in October!

Which would you rather do if given the opportunity: film a commercial OR an acting role in a TV show?

I would choose an acting role in a TV series. I think acting and singing is very related. When I sing I have to act as if it’s my story.

Describe your personality in three words.

Bright, transform, sober.

What are your five most played songs currently?

My song – ” You were my twenties”, Michael Buble – “Cry me a river”, Ariana Grande – “Problem”, Maroon 5 -” Maps , Block B – “HER”.

lee-ye-jun_1386390434_af_orgWho are some of your favourite artists currently?

Jessie J!! She is incredible.

When you have spare time, what do you do for fun?

I play with my lovely dogs. The are so cute! Or I just go out and call my friends.

Name one thing that fans may not already know about you.

I think they know everything, even the names of my dogs haha.

Any advice for aspiring singers and those considering entering a singing audition program in Korea?

Repeat everything. I think repeating something is the strongest thing. Habit comes from repeating actions or words.

Any final words for the readers/fans?

It was fun! Thank you for reading. I hope this interview can show who I am ^^ Love you all!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

