rhythm.connection PRESENTS: BiPA [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

My oh my, two posts in two days? This hasn’t been done in a while. This is what we imagine you might be thinking, right? Well this definitely isn’t a trick, it’s very real. Anyways we digress. We recently had the chance to catch up with another K-pop star who’s been under the radar recently but is very much working on new material for her fans. Let check out what Lip Service member BiPA has to say!

Ashley Youn (born Yoon Yeseul on January 11, 1988 in South Korea), also known by her stage name BiPA, is a Korean singer and rapper. BiPA is most notably known as a member of the K-pop girl group Lip Service, which debuted in 2014. BiPA is also known for her caring nature towards her fans, as she engages them through Instagram to keep connected with them. Lately she has been working on preparing some solo material during her group’s unofficial hiatus. Let’s catch up with her!

For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please briefly introduce yourself.

My name is BiPA. I’m a rapper, but I don’t want to limit myself being just a rapper, but also a vocalist. I would express myself as a performer/artist/musician.

How have you been? It’s been a while since the fans have seen you. What have you been up to these days?

I miss being on stage and meeting my fans so much. Sometimes things get rough, but I definitely am learning and studying a lot of things and learning more about myself from these hard times. I believe it will help me in the future when I comeback to my fans as a better and cooler artist. These days I’m working on songs by myself and with my musician friends to tell my fans that I’m still alive!

You debuted in 2014 as a member of the girl group Lip Service with the song ‘Yum Yum Yum’. I’ve always wanted to know, what’s the story behind you getting casted by your company to debut in Lip Service?

I auditioned for lots of different entertainment companies. There’re so many companies and trainees out there but there is the right one for each individual, just like a fated love between man and woman.

As I am aware, you were born in Cheongju, but you moved to Houston, Texas at some point. You spent many years living there, going to school and working, so what made you want to pursue music as a career and go all the way out to Korea?

I always wanted to be a singer since I was a little girl.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Being on stage in front of more people who know my name and love my music. That would be my dream come true also.

You went to university in Houston, right? What did you study while you were there? And was it something you wanted to pursue long term at that time?

I majored in hotel and restaurant management. And to be honest, I always desire to be on stage, so my studies was not something I saw myself doing long-term. I thought it was just the young mind of me because all kids want to be a star. But my desire got bigger and bigger that I had to do it.

 

When can fans expect new music from Lip Service? Any chance of a solo debut?

Nothing has been determined yet. But I will continuously upload my solo mix tape tracks and videos through my YouTube channel (YouTube.com/younbipa).

Since you lived in the US for a while, do you think that your US upbringing has greatly influenced your style as an artist?

Definitely. I lived in the US from the ages of 18 to 24, and I believe that’s when I matured also.

If you had the chance to collaborate with an artist, who would it be and why?

I love to collaborate with different artists out there. It’s always fun to create new things you never expected.

What are your five most played songs right now?

Don’t Come Back by Heize, F**k with U by Pia Mia, The City Don’t Care (feat. Oliver) by Leon Else, One Love by 1TYM, and Human by Rag ‘N’ Bone Man.

What is your current guilty pleasure?

Eatting fatty foods lol

When you have spare time, what do you do to relax?

Searching dance and performance videos on YouTube.


Name something fans might not already know about you.

There’s many things that you don’t know about me than you  do know haha.

Any advice for aspiring artists?

Not just anyone could do it but I wanna say everyone can do it. You gotta work hard to get far but when you eventually get where you want to be, that feeling tastes just awesome.

Any additional words for the readers?

Maybe most of y’all heard my name for the first time but I believe in myself. That I will touch my dream in the near future, than you will know me and you will love me. Thank you for reading this! Always imagine what you want to be, than you will be the one!

 

Many thanks to Ashley (Bipa) for responding to some of our questions, and until next time, this has been a rhythm.connection exclusive!

Leave a Reply

