rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Han Yejin [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Among Korean celebrities today, who could you say is not only multi-talented and beautiful, but also Canadian-raised, a former Miss Korea Seattle winner, and has shifted gears from music to acting? There should only be one answer to that, and today we’re gonna tell you why that is. Let’s catch up with former Brave Girls member and actress Han Yejin!

Yejin Han (aka Han Yehjin; English name: Christina Han; born November 24, 1990 in Seoul, Korea) is an up-and-coming actress and former member of K-pop girl group Brave Girls. Debuting back in 2011, Yejin has been mostly under the radar since her departure from the group, but with good reason. She’s been preparing a comeback as an actress and also recently completed university. She was kind enough to answer some questions we had and hopefully that will give you an idea of what to expect from this budding talent!

For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please briefly introduce yourself.

Hello readers! I’m Han Yehjin. I was born in Seoul and raised in Vancouver since I was in 5th grade. I used to be a member of the Korean girl group called Brave Girls.

How have you been? It’s been a while since the fans have seen you. What have you been up to these days?

After dropping out from Brave Girls, I went back to school and graduated this year. I majored in acting at Chung-Ang University so I gradually prepared for drama auditions. This year I had an opportunity to audition for an SBS drama called “Whisper”, and I was casted in a minor role in that drama.

How do you feel about having fans cheering for you since day one, no matter what it is that you’re pursuing?

Since I haven’t been on a television for a long period, I thought everyone forgot about me or Brave Girls. But sometimes when I’m out in public, some fans recognize me and ask for an autograph or a photo. I felt very surprised and thankful for those people who didn’t forget me and are still cheering me on. I think I should repay them by appearing through acting and making their support justified.

For those who are familiar with you, you were previously a member of Brave Entertainment’s first girl group Brave Girls. Please tell us a little about your experience with the group and your training experience up to your debut.

I was lucky. After I graduated from high school in Vancouver, I came to Korea and a year later I got a casting call from Brave Entertainment. They saw my picture on my Cyworld (Korean social media platform) profile and contacted me for an audition, and I got in. Therefore, I went to Brave Entertainment after school to practice singing and dancing. We had monthly singing and dancing evaluations, and the boss (Brave Brothers) chose me to become a member of his first girl group so I debuted after a few months of training.

What inspired you to go to Korea to pursue a career in entertainment initially?

Since my mother is a violinist, music was a huge part of my life. I had to learn music (piano, violin, guitar etc.) and listen to classical music, but I also liked K-pop. When I was eight years old, I was watching a Korean music program and thought it was really cool and fancy. So I told my mom that I decided to become a singer when I grow up and she thought it was a joke because you know… I was too young and she thought I would change my mind. But my mind stayed the same and I never thought of anything else, so she accepted it and supported me until now. In my youth, I did my best to approach my dream. I learned singing and different kinds of dancing (ballet, jazz, hiphop etc.). It was not a sudden decision to come back to Korea and become a singer or an actress; it was actually all planned before I moved to Canada. Dreams come true!

Do you keep in touch with anyone you’ve met while you were with the group?

Yes, my best friend in Korea. We met when we were both in Brave Entertainment. She used to practice with us before we debuted. She is one year older than me. She is the most kind person I know and she is great in singing so she used to teach me and others. I thought we would debut together but unfortunately she quit before we debuted.

Have you listened to any of the songs made by the reformed roster of Brave Girls since you left? I believe Hyeran was the last original member left in the group before she took her hiatus.

Yes I did. I think it’s great and wish them good luck!

Name one memorable moment during your time as a K-pop idol group member, and why that moment is memorable.

I still remember the first time when I met my fans. After our album released, five people came in front of our studio and they cheered me on! They were always out there regardless of the weather. I remember when I got sick one day and one of my fans cooked porridge and brought it to me. Every moment with the fans are precious to me…I really miss them! I hope someday we could meet again and have a chat together.

I’m aware that you’re pursuing a career as an actress now. What sort of projects are you working on right now that you can tell us about?

As I mentioned before, I got a minor role in the SBS drama “Whisper”, so I’m shooting these days and I’m seeking out any good opportunities to expose myself as an actress!

You lived in Vancouver for a while. Have you had the chance to visit often? And what do you miss about Canada?

My family (except my dad) still lives in Canada so I try to visit at least once a year to see them. Hmm…what I miss is just the simple things! I miss hanging out with my friends, going to Stanley Park or English Bay together and just chilling with them!

Do you still play violin or guitar?

I play guitar sometimes! But not often.

What is your current guilty pleasure?

I’m on a diet right now, but I’m a foodie so I eat whatever I want on weekends!

What are your five most played songs currently?

That’s what I like – Bruno Mars, Best Mistake – Ariana Grande, 습관(Habit) – Rollercoaster, Baby Blue – Action Bronson, Oui – Jeremih

What is the most recent film you’ve watched?

The new Beauty and the Beast film!

When you have spare time, what do you do to relax?

I like to make something by knitting (crochet).

Name something fans might not already know about you.

I haven’t really spoken enough to express myself on broadcasts so I don’t think many people would recognize this but I’m kinda funny and weird…that’s what my friends say often.

Any additional words for the readers?

Thank you to those of you who read the whole interview! And for those of you who are curious and want to know what I’m working on, come visit my Instagram (@misshanye). It will show you everything about me! 🙂

 

Many many thanks to Yejin for taking the time to answer our questions. Until next time, this has been a rhythm.connection exclusive!

2 responses to “rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Han Yejin [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Leave a Reply

