rhythm.connection PRESENTS: Dabit [EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW]

Hello dear readers, we hope you’re having a wonderful day/night, wherever you are! Allow us to bring some more smiles and enjoyment to you as we present today’s subject of focus – Korean-American singer/songwriter David Kim, also known as Dabit!

Dabit (born David Kim/Kim Jungwook, on December 5, 1989) is a Korean-American singer and songwriter. Originally from the United States, Dabit made his way out to Korea a few years back, initially training at Choeun Entertainment to debut as a member of boy band 24K, but instead breaking away from that path to pursue a solo career. Currently signed with STL Entertainment in Korea for domestic activities and KoffeeDream Entertainment for international activities, Dabit is well known for his charismatic presence, sweet voice and major fan service to his supporters. He was kind enough to answer some questions for us, so let’s check out what he had to say!

For those who aren’t familiar with who you are, please briefly introduce yourself.

Hey everyone! My name is Dabit and I am a singer-songwriter!

How long have you been doing music for?

I have been singing as a hobby ever since I can remember. However, I started music seriously when I got accepted to the Berklee College of Music for college.

What kind of artist would you consider yourself?

I still have alot of life to live. I would like my music and my life to be a direct reflection of my progression and growth in life.

How have you been? What have you been up to these days?

I have recently signed to a new company. I am currently working on myself as an artist and really getting prepared to show my fans something big.

So your last formal release was an OST track for the drama ‘Father I’ll Take Care of You”. When can fans expect new music from you?

This year for sure. I am being very careful and selective with what I release. I am still finding my color as an artist and I have been experimenting with different music. So please just wait a little longer!

You also have a Soundcloud page, correct? What can fans find there?

My Soundcloud is an outlet for my experimental music. If you are having trouble waiting for my new album, my Soundcloud is a good place to listen to recent recordings of cover songs, demos and even some rough sketches of what I’m writing and what kind of music I am doing.

Out of all the songs you’ve released so far, which would you say personally resonates with you the most and why?

I would say ‘Up & Down’ because I literally wrote that song during the middle of a date I had. It was a study-date!

I heard you’re also looking to do more acting. Any future projects coming up soon that you can talk about?

Nothing in the near future yet. Acting is something I am just enjoying at the moment.

So you’ve had quite a journey as a musically-inclined individual. Going to Berklee for two years, leaving to Korea, joining a company and almost debuting in a boy band, and then going solo. What would you say has been the biggest difficulty you’ve had to overcome in getting to where you are now?

The biggest difficulty is having faith and confidence in my own self as an artist.

Since you lived in the US for a while, do you think that your US upbringing has greatly influenced your style as an artist?

Yes, it definitely has had a big influence in my style. I feel like I was exposed to both American and Korean entertainment culture quite evenly when I was growing up. It definitely helped me to define my own identity as a Korean-American which ultimately helped me to find my own identity.

You are also one of the few artists that I know of that has done fan-meets in places where K-pop artists seldom tour – India, Tunisia and Ireland to name a few. Where would you like to go next?

I would absolutely love to go wherever there are fans and delicious food!!!

I also heard you came to Canada back in late 2015 for a show and fan-meet. How was that experience?

I loved it. Especially because Toronto is very close to my hometown in America, I was able to drive down to visit my home afterwards.

You’ve been active a lot on V App. Talk about that!

V App is a live streaming video app that lets fans and artists interact live with each other. You can find me on the company vapp channel STL ENT.

You’re also a host on Arirang Radio’s HOT BEAT. How has that experience been?

I have been on Arirang radio for over 3 years. It’s been an amazing experience because I got to hear personal stories from my fans from all around the world. Interacting on a deeper level with fans is always an amazing experience.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In 5 years I hope that I would be steadily doing music and still performing all around the world!

If you had the chance to collaborate with any artist, who would it be and why?

I would love to collaborate with Heize because she sings, raps, and has a very distinct style.

What are your five most played songs right now?

John Mayer- Still Feel Like Your Man, Heize- 돌아오지마  (Don’t Come Back), Tori Kelly- Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing, Day6 – 아 왜 (I Wait), Troye Sivan- Youth

What is your current guilty pleasure?

My current guilty pleasure is playing a nice game of Overwatch.

When you have spare time, what do you do to relax?

I tend to relieve alot of my stress by staying home and watching Netflix.

Name something fans might not already know about you.

I have a beautiful adopted rottweiler named KANO (pronounced: Kah-No)

Any advice for aspiring artists?

Adapt quickly to your surroundings. Struggles are there so you can move forward as a person. Don’t let it push you back.

Any additional words for the readers?

I Love YOU and I support your guys’ dreams! I hope we can all grow together!

 

Many thanks to Dabit and his team at KoffeeDream Entertainment for helping make this interview happen. Until next time, this is a rhythm.connection exclusive!

Leave a Reply

